Union Territories of India

There are eight beautiful union territories in India, Administered by the Central government. These Union Territories are the fastest developing modern and delightful belt for tourism in India also as in terms of industry and infrastructure too.

Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli are famous for its excellent beaches, Portuguese churches and forts while on the opposite hand, Delhi is understood for an inventory of old era monuments and heritage sites and islands of Andaman, Lakshadweep with pristine beaches.

How many Union Territories are there in India in 2020?
After the choices announced by the govt of India on Aug 5, 2019 – J&K as a state are going to be granted special status and decided to bifurcate the state into two Union territories, Jammu and Kashmir with a legislature, and Ladakh without a legislature. a complete of 8 Union territories in India.

After the merger of the union territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu in December 2019, effect on 26 January 2020. There are now eight union territories in India.

National Capital Territory of Delhi – Delhi

The official name capital Territory of Delhi, in 1956 Delhi was converted into Union territory. Today, Delhi is that the largest metro green city of India by area and eighth within the world by population. Delhi also owns the capital Region (NCR) populated area during which Noida, Gurgaon, Greater Noida, Faridabad, and Ghaziabad are included.

The capital of India Delhi is found on the banks of Yamuna river one among the holy rivers in India. Delhi has many tourist attractions for the people of all round the world like Palika Bazaar, lotus temple, Red fort, Mugral era tomb, Jama Masjid and therefore the Pride of India “The India Gate”.

Chandigarh – Chandigarh

Chandigarh is one among the simplest city in India to measure and work, it’s also referred to as the Green city of India. Chandigarh is that the capital of both states Haryana and Punjab.

Chandigarh is taken into account because the first well-planned city of India, List of tourist attractions includes rockery and Sukhna Lake and a aviary located within the city which is home for a spread of bird species are best places to go to in Chandigarh.

Daman and Diu/ Dadra and Nagar Haveli – Daman

Daman and Diu are located on the western coast of India, Daman city is that the capital having a neighborhood of 72km. Daman and Diu is that the second smallest among the opposite union territories in India and features a mixed culture of Indian and Portuguese

Daman and Diu are known for its untouched and explorer natural beauty. a visit to the famous beaches, Portuguese churches and forts of Daman and Diu can’t be forgettable, also Daman city has one among the foremost famous casinos in India.

– Silvassa

Dadra and Nagar Haveli located between Maharashtra and Gujarat and a couple of kilometers from the town of Daman. a gorgeous lake Garden Vanganga is found at the doorway of the town due to its scenic natural beauty and pleasant climate, Dadra & Nagar Haveli are dream tourist destinations of Indian. Silvassa capital is one among the simplest places to go to in Western India.

Pondicherry – Puducherry

Pondicherry is found on the eastern ghat of India, it had been a former French colony. Puducherry is one among the foremost popular tourist destinations in South India. Beaches, Walkways, and Churches of Puducherry are must-see places within the southern belt of India.

Andaman and Nicobar Islands – Port Blair

Andaman and Nicobar are the groups of islands located within the Indian Ocean . The Andamans and Nicobars are separated by a channel. These Islands are blessed unique tropical evergreen forest.

The British used these islands as an isolated prison knows as Kala Pani for Indian freedom fighters. Local people of Islands still maintained their separated existence, these Indian tribes are referred to as Jarwa and Great Andamanese. Port Blair is that the largest city and therefore the capital of Andaman Island.

Lakshadweep – Kavaratti

Lakshadweep is that the smallest union territories in terms of area also as in population. Lakshadweep located off of the coast of Kerala within the Laccadive Sea. the entire area is 32 km and Kavaratti is that the capital with the most important city is Andreotti.

Lakshadweep is one among the growing tourist island in India also as India’s one among the simplest tourism location for Adventure sports. Though a number of the Islands of Lakshadweep are still inhabited and filled with natural beauty, color reef and virgin beaches hence become one among the simplest honeymoon destinations in India.

Jammu and Kashmir

The state of Jammu and Kashmir is now geographically divided the state into two Union Territories – Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. Kashmir Valley, Srinagar, and Jammu are the foremost popular places to go to in J&K. Image by confused_me from Pixabay


Ladakh is that the land of high altitude mountain passes, now a union territory of India and residential to world highest motorable roads like Umling La, Marsimik La, and Khardung La. the govt of India is additionally promoting tourism in Ladakh also as within the Kashmir region and Siachen Glacier. Image source.

%d bloggers like this: